Los Alamos National LaboratoryCenter for Space and Earth Science
Part of the National Security Education Center

CSES Review Board

High quality, cutting-edge science in the areas of astrophysics, space physics, solid planetary geoscience and Earth systems


  • Director
  • Lisa Danielson
  • (505) 667-1703
  • Email
  • Professional Staff Assistant
  • Sarah Balkey
  • (505) 667-8777
  • Email

CSES Review Board

       Board Members                               Position                  Expertise
Don Wuebbles Harry E. Preble Endowed Professor, Dept. of Atmospheric Sciences, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign Earth Systems, Climate, National Climate Policy
Fiona Harrison Head of Physics and Astronomy at Caltech Astrophysics
Julie McEnery High Energy Astrophysics, NASA/GSFC Head of Fermi and AMEGO Astrophysics
John Tomsick Space Sciences Laboratory UCB, COS-X Lead Astrophysics
Harlan Spence Director of the Institute For The Study of Earth, Oceans, And Space; Professor Of Physics – University of New Hampshire Space, Planetary, Earth Systems, Geophysics
Robert McCoy Director, UAF Geophysical Institute, and technical director for the Operationally Responsive Space Office and team leader for the Space Science Team for the Office of Naval Research Space, Geophysics
Terry Wallace LANL, Ex AD for GS, ex Lab Director Geophysics
Alan Bishop LANL, Ex DD-STE All Center Topics
Matt Heavner LANL, GS-IET, PM for Data Sciences Space, Earth Systems
Josh Dolence LANL, ALDSC Astrophysics
John Szymanski LANL, ALDGS Space, All topics


CSES Focus Area Review Boards

Review Name Group Expertise Period 
Sanna Sevanto EES-14 Vegetation, biosphere, experimental  FY19-FY21
John Reisner XCP-4 Atmospheric sciences and atmospheric modeling FY16-FY21
Milena Veneziani T-3 COSIM, modeling, ocean, Hilat  FY19-FY21
Taraka Dale B-11 Biology, bioenergy FY19-FY21
Katrina Bennett EES-16 Modeling, fire   FY19-FY21
Wilbert Weijer CCS-2 Physical Oceanography/Climate Science FY20-FY22
Matthew Hoffman T-3 Subglacial hydrology, ocean modeling, remote sensing FY20-FY22
Alan Bishop DDSTE FY21-FY23
Chris Fryer CCS-2 Transients, general astrophysics FY19-FY21
Hui Li T-2  Star formation, AGN, magnetohydrodynamics FY16-FY21
Cathy Plesko XCP-5 Planets FY19-FY21
Pat Harding P-23 HAWC, dark matter FY18-FY21
Jonas Lippuner CCS-2 Nuclear astrophysics FY18-FY21
Przemek Wozniak ISR-2 Transient observations FY18-FY21
Josh Dolence CCS-2 Transient models, multi-physics modeling FY19-FY21
Wes Even CCS-2 Transient models, multi-physics modeling FY19-FY21
Chris Biwer CCS-7 Data analysis, gravitational waves FY18-FY21
Fan Guo T-2  AGN, magnetohydrodynamics FY19-FY21
Brenda Dingus P-23 HAWC, high-energy transients FY19-FY21
Jarrett Johnson XTD-NTA Cosmology, star formation FY19-FY21
Nicole Lloyd-Roning CCS-2 Plasma, astrophysics, gamma-ray bursts Fy 19-FY21
Char Rowe EES-17 Seismology, ocean-bottom seismic sensing and analysis FY19-FY21
George Guthrie SPO-AE Subsurface applications to materials for a variety of energy-related topics FY16-FY21
Cathy Snelson-Gerlicher EES-17 Geophysics, controlled source seismology FY18-FY20
Ellen Syracuse EES-17 Seismic source location, 3D seismic velocity models FY19-FY21
Emily Schultz-Fellenz EES-14 Structural geology, tectonic geomorphology, paleoseismology FY19-FY21
Phillip Stauffer EES-16 Simulations of subsurface flow and simulations FY21-FY23
Robert Hill ISR-2 Sensor development and signal processing techniques FY21-FY23
Vania Jordanova ISR-1 Space plasma physics, magnetosphere modeling FY18-FY20
Mike Henderson ISR-1 Substorms, auroras, radiation belts FY19-FY21
Geoff Reeves ISR-1 Radiation belt science FY16-FY18
Misa Cowe ISR-1 Space science, radiation belts, HANE FY18-FY20
Sonja Behnke ISR-2 Ionospheric Physics FY18-FY20
Brian Larsen ISR-1 Spaces Physics, instrumentation FY18-FY20
Greg Cunningham ISR-1 Space Science, radiation belts FY18-FY20
Fan Guo T-2 Space plasma physics, theory/modeling FY18-FY20
Nina Lanza ISR-2 Planetary physics, Mars geochemistry FY19-FY21
Larissa Huston M-9 Mineral physics, small sample science FY19-FY21
Blake Sturtevant M-9 Mineral physics, small sample science FY19-FY21
Peter Bloser ISR-1 Gamma ray and neutron detection FY19-FY21
Katherine Mesick ISR-1 Neutron, gamma, X-ray, plasma science FY19-FY21
Phil Fernandez ISR-1 Neutron, gamma, X-ray, plasma science FY19-FY21
Cathy Plesko XCP-5 Impact and planetary process modeling FY21-FY23
Ann Ollila ISR-2 Planetary physics, Mars geochemistry, instrument development FY19-FY21
Biological Systems
Jeanne Fair B-10 Genomics, biological agents, immunology FY20-FY23
Sanna Sevanto EES-14 Vegetation, biosphere, experimental FY20-FY23
Srinivas Iyer B-DO Molecular biology & instrumentation FY20-FY23
Elizabeth Hong-Geller B-DO Molecular biology & instrumentation FY20-FY23
Babs Marrone B-11 Algae and general bio FY20-FY23
Will Fisher T-6 Genomics FY20-FY23