Los Alamos National LaboratoryInstitute for Materials Science
Incubate - Innovate - Integrate

IMS Distinguished Faculty Scholar Program

This program supports the visit of a faculty member to spend 8 to 12 weeks at LANL together with some of their students.



  • Director
  • Dr. Filip Ronning
  • Institute for Materials Science
  • (505) 667-7426
  • Email
  • Deputy Director
  • Abigail Hunter
  • XCP-5: Materials and Physical Data
  • (505) 606-0765
  • Email
  • Administrator
  • Kelly Shea
  • Institute for Materials Science
  • (505) 667-9244
  • Email

IMS Distinguished Faculty Scholar

2021 Awardees

GTucker_Nov2017-copy.jpgGarritt J. Tucker, Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering/Materials Science Program, Computational Materials Science and Design (CMSD) Group, Colorado School of Mines.

Professor Tucker joined the Mechanical Engineering Department at Mines in the summer of 2017 as an Assistant Professor and is active in the interdisciplinary Materials Science program at Mines. Before joining the faculty at Mines, he spent 4 years as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Drexel University (Philadelphia, PA), and 2 years as a Postdoctoral Research Appointee at Sandia National Laboratories (Albuquerque, NM) in the Computational Materials and Data Science group. While at Drexel, he was awarded the Outstanding Teacher Award in 2015 and the TMS Young Leader Professional Development Award in 2016. Professor Tucker earned his Ph.D. in 2011 from the Georgia Institute of Technology (School of Materials Science and Engineering), and a B.S. in 2004 from Westminster College (Salt Lake City, UT) majoring in both Physics and Mathematics. During his time at Westminster and Georgia Tech, he received several distinctions including the Outstanding Physics Senior Award, Academic All-American (Soccer), and a Sigma Xi nomination. 

His research ambitions are aimed at integrating high-performance computing and theory to discover the fundamental structure-property relationships of materials that will enable the predictive design of advanced materials with tunable properties. Of particular interest are materials where defects and interfacial-driven properties can be effectively tuned or controlled to enable property enhancement, such as nanocrystalline alloys, multicomponent laminates, materials for energy storage, 2D materials, and hierarchical metals. At the core of his group’s approach is to develop collaborations and programs that effectively mesh computation with experiments to tailor functional materials, and pursue novel informatics techniques to build predictive materials models and inverse design strategies.

Research Website:  https://extreme.mines.edu

Mitlin-headshot.pngDavid Mitlin, David Allen Cockrell Endowed Professor, Materials Science Program and Texas Materials Institute, The University of Texas at Austin.

David Mitlin is a David Allen Cockrell Endowed Professor at the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin. Prior to that, he was a Professor and General Electric Chair at Clarkson University, and an Assistant, Associate and full Professor at the University of Alberta, Alberta Canada. Dr. Mitlin has published 155 peer-reviewed journal articles on various aspects of energy storage materials and on corrosion – fouling phenomena. This body of work receives over 2000 citations per year. Dr. Mitlin holds 10 granted U.S. patents and 13 more pending full applications, with all of them licensed currently or in the past. He has presented over 125 invited, keynote and plenary talks at various international conferences. Dr. Mitlin is an Associate Editor for Sustainable Energy and Fuels, a Royal Society of Chemistry Journal focused on renewables. Dave received a Doctorate in Materials Science from U.C. Berkeley in 2000, M.S. from Penn State in 1996, and B.S. from RPI in 1995. He grew up in upstate NY and in southern CT.

Research Website: https://www.me.utexas.edu/faculty/faculty-directory/mitlin


Due Date: Call is closed for 2021 applications.

Scope: The Institute for Materials Science (IMS) is pleased to announce the creation of the IMS Distinguished Faculty Scholar program. This program will support the visit of a faculty member to spend 8‐12 weeks at LANL together with some of their students. The goal of this program is to enhance LANL collaborations that will generate new initiatives within Materials Science at LANL, will create additional pipelines for the LANL workforce, and will enhance LANL’s reputation in the international Materials Science communities. A new call will be issued next summer for the following year.