Computational Data Science Approaches for Materials Conference 2019

This three day conference invites collaboration in machine learning and data science methods to solve materials-related problems.
  • thumbnail of

For Questions, please contact:  

  • Administrator
  • Kelly Shea
  • Institute for Materials Science
  • (505) 667-9244
  • Email

Hosted by the Institute for Materials Science

Dates:  April 8-10, 2019
Location:  2nd floor, J.R. Oppenheimer Study Center, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Sponsors:  Los Alamos National Laboratory, Institute for Materials Science

Registration:  Please fill out the following form and email to Kelly Shea at Registration Form

Contact:  For questions regarding registration, student travel funding, or general information, please contact Kelly Shea, 505-667-9244,

Please register early to allow for LANL badging


Our workshop invites people from both the academic and programmatic research with expertise in machine learning and data science methods to solve materials-related problems. This workshop will provide a unique environment for capability reviews of various teams nationwide, and also initiate effective and realistic collaborations between them.

Speaker Topics

Day 1 - Data Driven Approach for Solving problems in Micro scale: From Electronic Structures to Atomic and Molecular Systems

Day 2 - Data Science Method Development for Complex Materials

Day 3 - Data Driven Method to Solve Multiscale Materials Phenomena Relevant to Energy and National Security

Invited Speakers (to be confirmed)

Los Alamos National Lab Speakers

  • Nester Fabian Aguirre Castiblanco - LANL
  • Filip Ronning - LANL
  • Turab Lookman - LANL

External Speakers

  • Sorelle Friedler, Haverford College
  • Brian Giera, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Yong Han, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Olexandr Isayev, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
  • Andrew Rappe, UPenn
  • Antia Sanchez-Bontana, Arizona State University
  • Subramanian Sankaranarayanan, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Arunima Singh, Arizona State University
  • Bobby Sumpter, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Steve Sun, Columbia University
  • Congwang Ye, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Organizing Committee

Towfiq Ahmed -  LANL
D.J. Luscher - LANL
Committee members
Alejandro Lopez - LANL
Roxanne Tutchton - LANL