Advanced Qualification of Additive Manufacturing Materials (AM) Workshop

Our goal is to define opportunities and research gaps within additive manufacturing (AM) and to engage the broader scientific/engineering community to discuss future research directions.
  • thumbnail of
  • thumbnail of


  • Director
  • Dr. Alexander V. Balatsky
  • Institute for Materials Science
  • (505) 665-0077
  • Email
  • Deputy Director
  • Dr. Jennifer S. Martinez
  • Institute for Materials Science
  • (505) 665-0045
  • Email
  • Professional Staff Assistant
  • Caryll Blount
  • Institute for Materials Science
  • (505) 665-3950
  • Email

Advanced Qualification of Additive Manufacturing Materials using in situ sensors, diagnostics and modeling

Dates: July 20 - 21, 2015
Venue:  La Fonda on the Plaza, Santa Fe, NM, USA
Registration: New Mexico Consortium (NMC) online registration
Cost: $250 Registration fee
Sponsors: Los Alamos National Laboratory - NSEC/IMS, MaRIE

Hotel Reservations:  Guests can begin booking reservations at
La Fonda online or by phone 800-523-5002 #1  and ask for
Additive Manufacturing Workshop, or #825065.
Workshop rate of $94 + tax is only available for the nights of July 19, 20 and 21, 2015.

Workshop Memo (pdf) | Agenda including speakers' abstracts (pdf)

Additive manufacturing (AM) offers distinct advantages over conventional manufacturing processes including the capability to both build and repair complex part shapes; to integrate and consolidate parts, and thus overcome joining concerns; and to locally tailor material compositions as well as properties.

A variety of fields such as aerospace, military, automotive, and biomedical are employing additive manufacturing technique as a way to decrease costs, increase manufacturing agility, and explore novel geometry/functionalities. To increase acceptance of additive manufacturing as a viable processing method, pathways for qualifying both the material and the process need to be developed and, perhaps, standardized.

The organizing committee would like to extend an invitation for you to attend a workshop in Santa Fe, NM - "Advanced Qualification of AM Materials using in situ sensors, diagnostics, and modeling". Invited speakers from universities and research centers, both US-based and Europe-based, will provide updates on their advanced qualification strategies or will present process-microstructure-property-performance results that motivate the need for an advanced qualification methodology.

Talks over the course of the 1.5-day workshop will cover mixtures of metals, non-metals, experimental, and modeling. Included in this Gordon style workshop will be panel discussions with the invited speakers. This open atmosphere will allow for extended discussions in areas of interest to the audience. We would appreciate your participation in this full event and look forward to seeing you in Santa Fe in July.


  • Prof. Suresh Babu - University of Tennessee
  • Dr. Mark Benedict - AFRL
  • Prof. Kevin Chou - University of Alabama
    Presentation (pdf)
  • Dr. Christian Leinenbach- EMPA Switzerland
    Presentation (pdf)
  • Dr. Lyle Levine - NIST
  • Prof. Jyoti Mazumder - University of Michigan
  • Dr. Kalman Migler – NIST
  • Prof. Pan Michaleris - Penn State University
  • Prof. Todd Palmer - Penn State University
  • Prof. Natalie Rudolph - University of Wisconsin, Madison
    Presentation (pdf)
  • Prof. Hans-Joachim Schmid - University of Paderborn, Germany
  • Dr. Chantal Sudbrack - NASA
  • Prof. Chris Tuck - University of Nottingham
    Presentation (pdf)

Organizing Committee

  • Alexander Balatsky
  • Rick Martineau
  • John Carpenter
  • Marianne Francois
  • Rusty Gray
  • Terry Holesinger
  • Boris Maiorov
  • Nate Mara
  • Jen Martinez
  • Alex Mueller
  • Toni Taylor
  • David Teter
  • Dan Thoma


Monday, July 20 th 2015
Venues: Breakfast – Santa Fe Room
Morning & afternoon sessions and Panel Discussion - New Mexico Meeting Room
Lunch - La Terraza
Poster Sessions - Santa Fe Room
7:00 – 8:00 Registration in The Portal
Breakfast - provided by La Fonda on the Plaza
8:00 – 8:10 Introduction to Goals of Workshop – David Teter and Alexander Balatsky
8:10 – 8:50 Pan Michaleris - PennState University, Department of Mechanical & Nuclear Engineering
8:50 – 9:30 Hans-Joachim Schmid - Universität Paderborn, Particle Technology Group
9:30 - 10:10 Kevin Chou - University of Alabama, Department of Mechanical Engineering
10:10 - 10:30 Break - with refreshments
10:30 - 11:10 Mark Benedict - Air Force Research Laboratory, Materials & Manufacturing Directorate
11:10 - 11:50 Natalie Rudolph – University of Wisconsin–Madison, College of Engineering
11:50 - 1:20 Break for Lunch at La Terraza - provided by La Fonda on the Plaza
1:20 - 2:00 Christopher Tuck – University of Nottingham, EPSRC Centre of Innovative Manufacturing
2:00 - 2:40 Chantal Sudbrak – NASA, Materials Research Engineer
2:40 - 3:20 Todd Palmer – PennState University, Department of Materials Science & Engineering
3:20 - 4:00 Lyle Levine – NIST, Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory
4:00 - 4:15 Break - with cocktails, chips and salsa
4:15 - 5:45 Panel Discussion
5:45 - 7:30 Poster Sessions
Light dinner hors-d'oeuvres and cocktails during Poster Sessions hors-d'oeuvres provided by La Fonda on the Plaza
Tuesday, July 21 st 2015
Venues: Breakfast – Santa Fe Room
Morning & afternoon sessions and Panel Discussion - New Mexico Meeting Room
7:15 – 8:30 Breakfast - provided by La Fonda on the Plaza
8:30 - 9:10 Jyoti Mazumder – University of Michigan College of Engineering, Mechanical Engineering
9:10 - 9:50 Suresh Babu – University of Tennessee, Governor's Chair on Advanced Manufacturing
9:50 - 10:30 Kalman Migler – NIST, Materials Science and Engineering - Polymers and Complex Fluids
10:30 - 11:10

Christian Leinenbach – Empa, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science & Technology

11:10 – 11:15 Break with refreshments
11:15 - 1:00 Panel Discussion

New Mexico Consortium contact: Shannan Yeager
Technical contact: Jennifer Martinez | Administrative contact: Caryll Blount