Los Alamos National Labs with logo 2021

Nobel Prizes

Twenty scientists with ties to Los Alamos have won Nobel Prizes.
July 6, 2020
Two men shake hands; women and men in formal wear stand behind them.

The 1965 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded jointly to Sin-Itiro Tomonaga, Julian Schwinger, and Richard Feynman (pictured, right) “for their fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics.” Feynman, who worked at Los Alamos during the Manhattan Project, is remembered for his creative problem solving, unconventional perspective, and ability to communicate with a flair. Today, the Richard P. Feynman Center for Innovation at the Lab is inspired and driven by the Feynman legacy. The center aligns Laboratory capabilities with industry’s challenges and our country’s need to protect against threats.CREDIT: Archives, California Institute of Technology


On November 27, 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and peace—the Nobel Prizes.

Established by Alfred Nobel in 1895, the Nobel Prize is the most prestigious award offered in the fields of chemistry, peace, physics, literature, physiology or medicine, and economics. Nobel Prizes have been bestowed upon more than 900 individuals. More than a dozen of these Nobel Laureates contributed to research at Los Alamos during some point of their careers.

17 for physics:

Roy Glauber, 2005
Masatoshi Koshiba, 2002
Norman Ramsey, 1989
Val Fitch, 1980
Aage Bohr, 1975
Luis Alvarez, 1968
Hans Bethe, 1967
Richard Feynman, 1965
Maria Goeppert-Mayer, 1963
Owen Chamberlain, 1959
Emilio Segre, 1959
Felix Bloch, 1952
Isidor Rabi, 1944
Enrico Fermi, 1938
Sir James Chadwick, 1935
Neils Bohl, 1922 

1 for peace:

Joseph Rotblat, 1995

2 for chemistry:

Thomas Cech, 1989
Edwin McMillan, 1951

A man draws a diagram on a chalkboard.

Enrico Fermi won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1938.