Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Delivering science and technology to protect our nation and promote world stability

In Other News

Community Leaders survey results; NNSA orders security enhancements; Scientists awarded Fellowships from APS.
February 1, 2013
dummy image

Read our archives.


  • Community Programs Office
  • Kurt Steinhaus
  • Email
The American Physical Society recognized 10 Laboratory scientists for “exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise.

Results of Latest Community Leaders Survey

The majority of regional stakeholders polled in the 2012 LANL Community Leaders Survey have a favorable impression of the Laboratory even though the overall approval rating is down slightly from last year. The survey relates that 72 percent of them have a positive impression, and only 2 percent have an unfavorable impression. The survey captured responses from 241 people representing business and economic interests, as well as influential representatives within the  state government, education, tribal and special-interest sectors.

When it comes to communication, 68 percent of leaders say they are satisfied with the Lab’s communication methods. Leaders also indicate that they prefer getting their information electronically and that Connections is one of the top ways they receive that information.

Economic and Business Issues
Perceptions about the Lab’s economic impact in Northern New Mexico are positive with 62 percent of leaders reporting they are very satisfied and another 25 percent indicating they are somewhat satisfied. Despite the positive responses, they nonetheless identified areas for improvement such as increased communication on business issues and other community outreach efforts.

Satisfaction with the Lab’s education outreach programs remains high. This year’s results revealed that 89 percent of leaders are satisfied with the Lab’s education programs, and in addition, 80 percent believe that the Lab’s partnerships with school districts, colleges and universities are effective.

Quality of Life Program
Overall, 80 percent of leaders are satisfied with the Lab’s involvement in school supply and holiday drives, giving campaigns, and employee and retiree volunteerism.

To view complete survey results.

NNSA Orders Security Enhancements

The National Nuclear Security Administration, a semi-autonomous agency of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), directed Los Alamos National Laboratory to increase its security beginning in late December 2012.

Under this order, all vehicles entering government property are required to stop at the East and West Jemez Road "Vehicle Access Portals" (VAPs) for a vehicle check. Pajarito Road remains open only to government badge holders. Vehicles are already required to stop at the Pajarito Road VAPs, the process is the same under the new directive.

Large delivery-type vehicle restrictions currently in place remain the same.

During these vehicle checks, all drivers are required to show picture identification (DOE badge or valid driver’s license) before proceeding. Drivers must vouch for other vehicle occupants. Vehicle stops are conducted as rapidly as possible to reduce traffic delays.

Motorists traveling through Los Alamos to and from the Pajarito Ski Area, Bandelier National Monument or the Jemez Mountains are strongly encouraged to use the West Road bypass in Los Alamos to avoid any potential traffic delays.

Scientists Awarded Fellowships From American Physical Society

The American Physical Society recognized 10 Laboratory scientists for “exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education” by making them Fellows.

Those receiving the honor for 2012 are:

  • William (Bill) Anderson, Shock and Detonation Physics group;
  • Jonathan C. Boettger, Materials and Physical Data group;
  • Vincenzo Cirigliano, Nuclear and Particle Physics, Astrophysics and Cosmology group;
  • James P. Colgan, Physics and Chemistry or Materials group;
  • Juan C. Fernandez, Plasma Physics group;
  • Tom Intrator, Plasma Physics group;
  • Turab Lookman, Physics of Condensed Matter and Complex Systems group;
  • Karissa Sanbonmatsu, Theoretical Biology and Biophysics group;
  • Ivan Vitev, Nuclear and Particle Physics, Astrophysics and Cosmology group; and
  • John M. Wills, Chemistry of Materials group.