Stellar Pulsation Meeting picture
Pulsation Meeting




Organizing Committees

Mailing List


Abstract Submission

Scientific Program








Stellar Pulsation: Challenges for Theory and Observation

Santa Fe, New Mexico

May 31 - June 5, 2009



Please identify yourself in the Group Photo and email the information to Joyce Ann Guzik.

We will be posting photos and links on the Photos page. If you have photos or a link to them that you would like to post, please E-mail Joyce.

Remember that proceedings are due to Joyce on July 20! The editors need to complete their work and deliver the files to the AIP on August 4, and we want everyone's contributions, so please do not miss this deadline.

Additional proceedings directions are posted at the link to the left.

The continuation of the series of Los Alamos stellar pulsation conferences starting in 1971 will be held in Santa Fe, May 31-June 5, 2009. This conference will be the nineteenth of these stellar astrophysics meetings. All stellar structure, evolution, and variability topics are welcome, but the emphasis will be on stellar stability and stellar pulsations, both radial and nonradial. Observational and theoretical papers are sought with the goal of better understanding internal stellar structure (including composition details) and the evolution of stars. Also welcomed are papers discussing the luminosity of these intrinsic variable stars with a goal of determining distance scales in our galaxy and nearby ones. Classical topics as well as those relating to solar-like oscillations for stars not intrinsically pulsationally unstable will be encouraged. With machine speeds so great now, it is expected that even elaborate nonlinear calculations will also be presented.


Download the Meeting Poster!

Two Sizes:

8.5"x11" 150 d.p.i. JPEG (400KB)


18"x24" 300 d.p.i. JPEG (3.8 MB)

Meeting Poster


"Los Alamos Series" Pulsation Meetings

1971 Los Alamos, USA
1974 Goddard Space Flight Center, USA
1976 Los Alamos, USA
1978 Goddard Space Flight Center, USA
1980 Los Alamos, USA
1982 Boulder, USA
1984 Toronto, Canada
1986 Los Alamos, USA
1988 University of Nebraska, USA
1990 Bologna, Italy
1992 Victoria, Canada
1995 Capetown, South Africa
1997 Los Alamos, USA
1999 Budapest, Hungary
2001 Leuven, Belgium
2003 Christchurch, New Zealand
2005 Rome (Monte Porzio Catone), Italy
2007 Vancouver, Canada
2009 Los Alamos (Santa Fe), USA