2017 FEL Prize

The 2017 FEL Prize goes to Bruce Carlsten, Dinh Nguyen and Richard Sheffield, from Los Alamos National Laboratory (Los Alamos, NM – USA), for their pioneering work on the invention and first practical realization of the RF photo-injector, the first theoretical model of emittance compensation, the application of the RF photo-injector to the first high-gain self-amplified spontaneous emission, and the first practical demonstration of the regenerative amplifier free-electron laser. The FEL prize is given to a person who has contributed significantly to the advancement of the field of Free-Electron Lasers and the above contributions have been recognized as keys for the success of present X-ray FELs.

The Young Scientist FEL Award, intended to recognize an important contribution to FEL science and technology from a person who is less than 35 years of age, goes this year to Eugenio Ferrari, now at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, and Eleonore Roussel, now at SOLEIL, both former collaborators of the FERMI team at Elettra-Sincrotrone Trieste. The motivations include the contributions of these two young scientists to the commissioning of FERMI FEL-2, the investigation of the FEL polarization properties, the implementation of innovative schemes for the generation of multi-color pulses in seeded FELs, and studies of the interplay between the microbunching instability and the properties of the FEL light.

Luca Giannessi

2017 FEL Prize Committee Chair