Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Delivering science and technology to protect our nation and promote world stability

Excited State Processes in Electronic and Bio Nanomaterials (ESP-2016)

Jun 13, 2016 8:00 AM - Jun 16, 2016 5:00 PM
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Sergei Tretiak
(505) 667-8351

Event Description

This interdisciplinary conference will provide an open forum for active interactions between researchers from different subfields.

The scope of the conference is a variety of excited state phenomena in technologically important materials and biosystems, including size-dependent and time-dependent electronic interactions, excited state dynamics, quantum confinement, and carrier transport, emphasizing similarity of the phenomena rather than specifics of the systems. Topical areas include   

    * Organic and polymeric materials (photophysics, chemistry, energy transfer and charge transport)
    * Carbon nanotubes (ultrafast processes and functional devices)
    * Organo-metallic complexes (excited state potentials and photocatalysis)
    * Semiconductor nanocrystals and metal nanoparticles (from novel structures to novel physical phenomena)
    * Biosystems (conformations, energy/charge transport, spectroscopy and photosynthesis)
    * Organic and inorganic nanostructured photovoltaic phenomena (physics, chemistry, and devices)
    * Molecular and supramolecular ordered assembly at nanoscales
    * Energy transfer phenomena and chemo- and bio-sensors

The previous ESP meetings organized by LANL took place at Los Alamos and Santa Fe (NM) in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2014. Browse the webpage  to explore topics of our past meetings.

We encourage participation of students and postdocs in the form of contributed talks and posters. Potential contributed speakers need register and to submit titles and abstracts of their presentations. The deadline for abstract submission: May 13, 2016.

Confirmed Invited Speakers
Muhammed Alam, Purdue University
Mark Bathe, MIT
Victor Batista, Yale University
Gui Bazan, UC Santa Barbara
Eric Bittner, University of Houston
Sergio Brovelli, Milan
Carles Curutchet, Univ. of Barcelona
Celso de Mello-Donega, Utrecht Univ.
Brian Dyer, Emory University
Alexander Efros, NRL
Johannes Gierschner, Madrid
David Ginley, NREL
Achim Hartschuh, LMU Munich
Alex Hogele, LMU Munich
Jen Hollingsworth, LANL
Dmitri Kilin, Univ. of South Dakota
Svetlana Kilina, ND State University
Maksym Kovalenko, ETH Zurich
Anna Krylov, Univ. of Southern Calif.
Guglielmo Lanzani, Milan
Jean-Sebastien Lauret, Cachan
Matt Law, UC Irvine
Sumit Mazumdar, Univ. of Arizona
David Nesbitt, JILA
Jun Onoe, Nagoya Univ.
Andrei Piryatinski, LANL
Oleg Prezhdo, Univ. of Southern Calif.
Andrew Rappe, Univ. of Pennsylvania
Jason Scharff, LANL
George Schatz, Northwestern Univ.
Greg Scholes, Princeton
Andrew Shreve, Univ. of New Mexico
Zhigang Shuai, Tsinhua
Lyudmila Slipchenko, Purdue Univ.
Frank Spano, Temple Univ.
Natalie Stingelin, Imp. College London
Sam Stranks, MIT
Joe Subotnik, Univ. of Pennsylvania
David Tomanek, Michigan State Univ.
Valy Vardeny, Univ. of Utah
Sergey Varganov, Univ. of Nevada-Reno
Hsing-Ling Wang, LANL
Ming Zheng, NIST
Gergely Zimanyi, UC Davis