Skip LANL navigation bars and bannerLos Alamos National LaboratoryGo to the Lab's home pageSearch for people in the Lab's directorySearch the Laboratory's Web site
Los Alamos National Laboratory Research Quarterly, Spring 2003
Site Map News Jobs Maps Calendar Library Search
Dateline Los Alamos
Mesa View
SQUID Magnetometry
Muon Radiography
Guarding the Air We Breathe
Modeling an Asteroid Impact

Spotlight, Los Alamos in the News by Todd Hanson and Jim Danneskiold

Patent and Licensing Awards
Patent and Licensing Awards, Outstanding Innovation
Laboratory researchers whose innovations were patented or licensed in 2002 were recognized at the fifth annual Laboratory Patent and Licensing Awards ceremony in February. Sponsored by the Industrial Business Development Division, the ceremony honored 130 current and former employees for their contributions to the Lab's portfolio of patented, copyrighted, and licensable technologies. The 2002 Distinguished Patent and Licensing Awards were also presented.

The 2002 Distinguished Patent Award was shared by Basil Swanson and former Los Alamos staff member Xuedong Song of the Bioscience Division for their patent of the Triggered Optical Biosensor. By amplifying specific binding events between fluorescence molecules, the biosensor can detect protein toxins, viruses, antibodies, and other biomolecules. Such sensor technology is critical to defending against threats of bioterrorism and has medical applications in diagnosing respiratory diseases. The Distinguished Patent Award recognizes inventors whose work exemplifies significant technical advance, adaptability to public use, and noteworthy value to the Lab's mission.

The 2002 Distinguished Licensing Award went to Benjamin Warner of the Chemistry Division. Warner's work, which spans radiation dosimetry, micro-x-ray fluorescence for drug discovery, and electrochromic (tinting) windows, has led to numerous commercialization ventures for the Laboratory. Warner has eleven patent disclosures and five pending patent applications, most of which were submitted in the past two years. He has actively pursued licensing opportunities, identifying markets for his varied inventions and promoting collaboration with potential licensees. The Distinguished Licensing Award recognizes inventors for outstanding success in transferring Lab technologies to the public and private sectors.

Last year, seventy-five U.S. patents were issued for Los Alamos inventions, thirty-one commercial licenses were approved, and $1.43 million in licensing income was generated. The Lab's portfolio now contains more than 600 licenses with academia, government agencies, and other nonprofit organizations as well as more than 150 commercial licenses. Since 1988, the Lab's licensing program has generated more than $7.5 million in royalties. Approximately two-thirds of that income has gone to fund research, education, and technology transfer activities at the Laboratory. The remainder has gone to the innovators.
—Todd Hanson

Laboratory Turns 60

LANL's 60th Anniversary logo, ideas that change the worldOn April 7, the Laboratory kicked off its 60th anniversary celebration. Festivities began with an anniversary address by Interim Laboratory Director Pete Nanos, who discussed the Lab's past and future. Following his talk, Nanos moderated a forum of former Lab directors that included Harold Agnew, Sig Hecker, and John Browne. John Hopkins, an associate director under Donald Kerr and Sig Hecker, represented Kerr in the forum. The directors discussed key accomplishments and challenges that occurred during their tenures. At an afternoon ceremony, Nanos awarded Los Alamos National Laboratory Medals to George Cowan and Louis Rosen in recognition of their distinguished scientific service to both the Lab and the nation.

Forum of directors: (From left) Harold Agnew, John Hopkins, Pete Nanos, Sig Hecker, 
              and John Browne.

Forum of directors:
(From left) Harold Agnew, John Hopkins, Pete Nanos, Sig Hecker, and John Browne.

The Laboratory was founded six decades ago, although historians disagree on the precise date. The formal contract between the federal government and the University of California establishing the Laboratory was signed on April 20, 1943. But the first meeting of the scientific committee headed by the Lab's founding director, J. Robert Oppenheimer, was held on March 6. Special events during the next six months will celebrate the accomplishments of Lab employees and the support of neighboring communities over the past sixty years.

As part of these festivities, the Laboratory and the University of California have scheduled an Anniversary Recognition Ceremony on April 22. Special guests invited include New Mexico's two U.S. senators, Pete Domenici and Jeff Bingaman, other members of Congress, many state and local officials, and officials from the Department of Energy and the National Nuclear Security Administration. Later in the day, two major new Lab facilities will be dedicated: the Nonproliferation and International Security Center and the Dual-Axis Radiographic Hydrodynamics Test (DARHT) facility.



The 2002 Distinguished Patent and Licensing Awards

The 2002 Distinguished Patent and Licensing Awards.

Lab winners of the 2002 Distinguished Patent and Licensing Awards, Basil Swanson (left) and Benjamin Warner (right).

Lab winners of the 2002 Distinguished Patent and Licensing Awards, Basil Swanson (left) and Benjamin Warner (right).


 Operated by the Los Alamos National Security, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's NNSA   
| © Copyright 2007-8 Los Alamos National Security, LLC All rights reserved | Disclaimer/Privacy
Web Contact