Research Library Awards

The Research Library and its staff have received many prestigious awards in its history, this page list a select few of them...
Congratulations Research Library!

2017: LANL Distinguished Performance Award : Frances Knudson, for her achievements in the development of electronic tools and systems for the Research Library and the Laboratory.

2017: Paul Evan Peters Award : Herbert Van de Sompel, in recognition of notable, lasting achievements in the creation and innovative use of network-based information resources and services that advance scholarship and intellectual productivity.

2015: Los Alamos Fellows Prize for Outstanding Research : Herbert Van de Sompel.

2012: Best Poster Award: Robert Sanderson for his poster "Global Web Archive Integration with Memento" for the ACM IEEE Joint Conference on Digital Libraries, June 10-14, Washington.

2011: Best Paper Award : Robert Sanderson, Benjamin Albritton, Rafael Schwemmer and Herbert Van De Sompel won the Joint Conference on Digital Libraries Vannevar Bush Best Paper Award for their paper, SharedCanvas: A Collaborative Model for Medieval Manuscript Layout Dissemination.

2011: LANL Distinguished Performance Award : Carol Hoover, for her work leading a National Laboratory Libraries Coalition working group in procuring the first DOE  site-wide license for SciFinder chemistry database.

2010: Digital Preservation Award: Herbert Van de Sompel, Robert Sanderson, Lyudmila Balakireva, and Harihar Shankar of the Research Library (STBPO-RL) and collaborators at Old Dominion University (Michael Nelson and Scott Ainsworth) won the 2010 Digital Preservation Award for Memento, a framework for time travel on the web.

2007: Best Poster Award, 16th International World Wide Web Conference, May 8-12, 2007, Banff, Alberta, Canada, awarded to Johan Bollen, Marko A. Rodriguez and Herbert Van de Sompel, Ludmila L. Balakireva and Aric Hagberg for The largest scholarly semantic network...ever.

2007: Best Poster Award, ACM IEEE Joint Conference on Digital Libraries, June 18-23, 2007, Vancouver, Canada, awarded to Johan Bollen, Marko A. Rodriguez and Herbert Van de Sompel for "MESUR: usage-based metrics of scholarly impact."

Visit Blogger Join Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter See our Flickr Photos Watch Our YouTube Videos Find Us on LinkedIn Find Us on iTunesFind Us on GooglePlayFind Us on Instagram