Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Delivering science and technology to protect our nation and promote world stability

In Other News

New Lab program reinforces safety behavior; Laboratory Fellows announced.
January 1, 2013
dummy image

Read our archives


  • Community Programs Office
  • Kurt Steinhaus
  • Email
Chuck, Steven, and Mikhail have made exceptional contributions in their fields and to national security.

New Lab Program Reinforces Safety Behavior

In November, the Lab initiated a new program to encourage safe behavior by employees and contractors. Called “LANLgram,” it uses memo-style notes that managers and employees can use to acknowledge activities, such as spreading deicer on slippery sidewalks or removing a trip hazard, that help create a hazard-free workplace.

Employees are being encouraged to write at least one LANLgram a week. Such actions should help reinforce the Lab’s safety culture in a positive way.

This activity is part of the Lab’s efforts to improve safety and advance from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s “Merit Status” to “Star Status” under its Voluntary Protection Program.

New Laboratory Fellows Announced

Three distinguished members of the LANL scientific staff are being honored with appointment as Laboratory Fellows for 2012.  The committee ranked a collection of nominations on the basis of:

  • Sustained, high-level achievements in programs of importance to the Laboratory
  • A fundamental or important discovery that has led to widespread use
  • Having become a recognized authority in the field, including outside recognition and an outstanding record of publications

The new Los Alamos Fellows are: Charles Farrar, Steven Elliott, and Mikhail Shashkov.

"Chuck, Steven, and Mikhail have made exceptional contributions in their fields and to national security,” said Laboratory Director Charlie McMillan. “To be honored by their peers is a testament to their work. I congratulate the 2012 Laboratory Fellows and thank them for their service.”

Charles Farrar, of the Los Alamos National Security Education Center, is one of the preeminent structural health monitoring (SHM) pioneers in the world.  SHM, a relatively new field, has evolved out of the traditional nondestructive evaluation method. While nondestructive evaluation tends to be a local inspection methodology usually accomplished with the system taken out of service, SHM focuses on continuous in situ monitoring of in-service systems on a larger scale.

Steven Elliott, of the Physics Division’s Neutron Science & Technology Group, is a world leader in the physics field of weak interactions, one of the four fundamental forces of nature, which include strong nuclear force, magnetism, and gravity. His work has been at the center of the discovery of neutrino mass—one of the most important breakthroughs in fundamental physics in the past several decades. With more than 12,000 citations and as a Fellow of the American Physical Society, his work is recognized the world over.

Mikhail Shashkov, of Computational Physics Division’s Methods and Algorithms Group, is a world-recognized leader in and developer of modern Arbitrary-Lagrangian-Eulerian (ALE) methods for high-speed, multi-material flows that are the heart of the Advanced Simulation and Computation program for NNSA and LANL weapons calculations.  His research and methods are extensively used at top research institutions around the world.

Visit Blogger Join Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter See our Flickr Photos Watch Our YouTube Videos Find Us on LinkedIn Find Us on iTunesFind Us on GooglePlayFind Us on Instagram