Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Delivering science and technology to protect our nation and promote world stability

Lab scientists recognized for their achievements

Influential scientific minds, F. Albert Cotton and Ernest O. Lawrence Awards
September 2, 2014
Left to right: Bette Korber, Alan Perelson and Allison Aiken

Left to right: Bette Korber, Alan Perelson and Allison Aiken


Aiken, Korber and Perelson spotlighted in Thomson Reuters report

Los Alamos National Laboratory scientists Allison Aiken, Bette Korber and Alan Perelson have been named to Thomson Reuters list of “The World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds.”

“To have three of our premier scientists recognized on this list is a great honor and attests to the intellectual vitality that feeds the breadth of disciplines essential to our national security mission,” said Los Alamos National Laboratory Director Charles McMillan. “The fact that one of those named is a former student and postdoctoral researcher makes me confident that our pipeline programs are actively inspiring future generations of scientific excellence.”

Alan Perelson

“It is an honor to have the value of my work recognized and to be included in this list,” Perelson, of the Laboratory’s Theoretical Biology and Biophysics group, said. “However, the real success in my area of modeling infectious disease only comes when the work has an impact on treating diseases such as HIV, influenza and hepatitis and ultimately in saving lives.”

Perelson is part of a multinational team whose work contributed to the understanding of the Hepatitis C virus and a possible cure. Originally from New York City, he is a Senior Fellow at the Laboratory, an external professor at the Santa Fe Institute, an adjunct professor of bioinformatics at Boston University, an adjunct professor of biology at the University of New Mexico and an adjunct professor of biostatistics at the University of Rochester’s School of Medicine.

Bette Korber

Korber is also part of the Laboratory’s Theoretical Biology and Biophysics group.

“I am proud to have made the list and it is particularly nice to be there along with my colleague Alan Perelson,” she said.

Korber is a Laboratory Fellow and also works at the New Mexico Consortium. Her work focuses on the human immune response to HIV infection and HIV evolution.  She uses that knowledge as a foundation to enable HIV vaccine design. She also leads the HIV sequence and immunology database project at Los Alamos, a global service for HIV researchers.

Allison Aiken

“I am excited to be on the list and I am very thankful to all of my mentors and colleagues,” Aiken, of the Laboratory’s Earth System Observations group, said.
Aiken was converted from a post-doctoral researcher to a research scientist last year at the Laboratory and is early in her career for such a distinguished recognition; her focus has been on ambient aerosol measurements. She received her undergraduate degrees from Furman University in 2002 in both chemistry and biology, where she was already combining laboratory and field work.

Jaqueline Kiplinger to receive F. Albert Cotton Award

Los Alamos National Laboratory scientist Jaqueline L. Kiplinger has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry, sponsored by the F. Albert Cotton Endowment Fund.

“To be nominated and selected for the Cotton Award by my American Chemical Society colleagues is such an extraordinary honor,” Kiplinger said. “I have found so much joy in actinide chemistry research, both in advancing fundamental knowledge for the nation, and in training future generations of scientists.”

The award recognizes outstanding synthetic accomplishment in the field of inorganic chemistry. A formal announcement of the names of the 2015 ACS National Award Recipients is in the August 11 issue of Chemical & Engineering News. The American Chemical Society will present her with the award at the Society’s 249th ACS National Meeting in Denver, Colorado on Tuesday, March 24, 2015.

Kiplinger was honored for her work in establishing synthetic routes to novel uranium and thorium compounds that have opened new frontiers in understanding the nature of bonding and reactivity in actinides.

“Collaborations have been critical to my success, and I have been privileged to work with many talented and motivated staff, post doctorates and students who have helped me advance this experimentally challenging area of chemistry; none of these discoveries would have been made without them,” said Kiplinger.

John Sarrao wins Ernest O. Lawrence Award

Los Alamos National Laboratory physicist John Sarrao has been honored by the U.S. Department of Energy with the 2013 Ernest O. Lawrence Award in Condensed Matter and Materials Sciences.

"John Sarrao's exciting advances in actinide studies exemplify the quality of research performed at Los Alamos National Laboratory,” said Los Alamos National Laboratory Director Charlie McMillan.

“Actinides, including plutonium, are among the most complex elements and involved in the most complex compounds known to man. Their understanding is fundamental to the Los Alamos core weapons mission and a major challenge in the worldwide condensed-matter and materials communities. John's contributions have fundamentally advanced our understanding in BOTH of these areas,” he said.

“I’m excited and humbled to receive the Lawrence Award. This is recognition of the work of many folks at Los Alamos as well as a broader set of colleagues and collaborators, and not just my own efforts,” said Sarrao.

The award consists of a gold medal bearing the likeness of E. O. Lawrence, a citation signed by Secretary of Energy Moniz, and an honorarium of $20,000.

Visit Blogger Join Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter See our Flickr Photos Watch Our YouTube Videos Find Us on LinkedIn Find Us on iTunesFind Us on GooglePlayFind Us on Instagram