Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Content Navigation
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Delivering science and technology to protect our nation and promote world stability

Types of Awards

The Lab's mission is to develop and apply science and technology to ensure the safety, security, and reliability of the U.S. nuclear deterrent; reduce global threats; and solve other emerging national security and energy challenges.


Types of Awards

The Awards Office, sponsored by the Technology Transfer Division and the Science and Technology Base Program Office, coordinates the Laboratory’s submission process for many key external awards. These awards are important for the recognition they bring to the Laboratory, the Department of Energy (DOE), and the individual award recipients.

Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award

EO Lawrence AwardThis DOE award honors scientists and engineers for exceptional contributions to the development, use, or control of nuclear energy (broadly defined to include the science and technology of nuclear, atomic, molecular, and particle interactions and effects).

Enrico Fermi Award

Fermi Award The Enrico Fermi Award is given by DOE to recognize scientists, engineers, and science policy makers for a lifetime of achievement in the field of nuclear energy. Established in 1956, it is the government's oldest science and technology award.

Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer Awards

FLC Logo This nationwide network of federal laboratories provides the forum to develop strategies and opportunities for linking the the federal laboratories' mission technologies and expertise with the marketplace, bringing laboratories together with potential users of government-developed technologies. The FLC sponsors several annual awards specific to technology transfer activities.

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

The Presidential Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers. The White House, following recommendations from participating agencies, will confer the awards annually.

R&D 100 Awards

R&D Logo For 44 years, the prestigious R&D 100 Awards competition, sponsored by R&D Magazine, has been helping companies provide the important initial push a new product needs to compete successfully in the marketplace. The winning of an R&D 100 Award provides a mark of excellence known to industry, government, and academia as proof that the product is one of the most innovative ideas of the year.

U.S. Presidential Award: National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences." In 1980, Congress expanded this recognition to include the social and behavioral sciences.

Note: All other award applications should be submitted individually or through the submitter’s group or division office.

Additional Distinguished Awards

Society and Association Awards

Following is a selected list of societies and associations that sponsor various award competitions and honors of interest to Laboratory employees.

Visit Blogger Join Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter See our Flickr Photos Watch Our YouTube Videos Find Us on LinkedIn Find Us on iTunesFind Us on GooglePlay